Problems with environmental pollution have become so serious that many countries are trying to solve these problems. discuss cause and effect and Suggest possible solutions and give your own opinion.

In contemporary society, pollution is just ubiquitous. With little objection, we can boldly say that, it happens mainly in the manufacturing phase of goods. This is intensified by inadequate treatment of waste material during the production process due to economic reasons, and it, in turn, leads to the destruction of natural habitats and loss of wildlife animals eventually. To alleviate this, we need to go directly to its root and tackle the economic reason behind. In a lot of countries, which are mainly the developing ones, the environmental protection regulations are not that stringent or just not earnestly enacted. In fact, it may be these countries ' intended strategy to use a low-cost production process to win factory orders and job opportunities. This is exemplified by the immense export subsidies earned by Chinese aluminium smelters in the early years. Producing aluminium requires plenty of electricity which is actually generated by burning coal, and we all know this produces pollution. Upgrading coal electricity plants to more advanced ones of course helps to reduce pollution, but it reduces the competition power of products and in reality consumers in developed countries just do not pay for the increase. Thus, it is a complex problem. To mitigate the problem, we need to tackle its predominant economic cause. For instance, we can trace the carbon footprint on the final products and impose a carbon tax on them, so the aluminium products aforementioned would be taxed according to the energy-saving level of its upstream electricity plants and the machinery it uses accordingly. In addition to the stick deployed, developed countries can also give carrots such as reduction of customs duties to products with comparably fewer carbon footprints. In conclusion, environmental pollution is a deeply entrenched problem and solving such a problem is close to insurmountable. Nonetheless, if we keep on kicking the can on the road, we will lose even the chance to alleviate it and let the deterioration of the natural environmental bite us back one day in future.