More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. Do the benefits of studying abroad outweigh the drawbacks?

Nowadays, the study can easily take a person out of their home country. This can be good because people can explore new cultures now more than ever. At the same time, world travellers may become disconnected from their own home countries. This essay will explore two of the benefits which have resulted from these changes and propose examples. To be sure, ordinary people now have unprecedented access to life abroad. It is easier than ever to study in a foreign land for months and even years. Just as nearly all universities provide study abroad options at partner campuses overseas. Nearly anyone in the world can potentially immerse themselves in another language or culture, with support from their teachers. The problem is that international students sometimes become unconcerned with the affairs in the nations they are from. This kind of apathy can prevent people from doing their civic duty. As one example, people from countries with compulsory military service may spend years abroad and even renounce their citizenship to avoid protecting their homeland. Even more commonly, people who go abroad may choose not to vote in elections back home, failing to make their voice to make a difference back home. In short, learning about other cultures by actually living abroad is a powerful tool for better intercultural understanding. However, as valuable as this is, sometimes going abroad can cause people to ignore the importance of their own culture and country. Not all students should go abroad, and the ones that do should not forget their role in their country of origin.