A group of people believe that smoking in the public should be banned. Other groups of people argue that it should not. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Some folks tend to support the prohibition of smoking publicly, while others are inclined to oppose this idea. These dissents are common to appear, since we live in a diverse society consisting of smokers and non- smokers. For some reason, both views might have their own stances. The main reason for those who support forbidding smokers from smoking publicly can be attributed to a health issues. Breathing among smokers can be harmful to some people, because it can cause respiratory problems, such as cough and lung cancer. Accordingly, they opt for a restriction or even ban on smoking in the public area to avert long-term health issues health issues. On the other hand, other people might reject the proposal for banning smokers from smoking publicly due to human right reason. Smoking is an individual right, thus prohibiting someone from smoking in an open area would be undermined the basic idea of human right: the right to choose. Not to mention, a public area is a place for anybody, without discriminating between smokers and non- smokers. Therefore, the idea of opposing the outdoor smoking ban cannot accede to the realm of human rights. Given there is a greater menace from smoking outdoor, my stance would go toward supporting the government to devise a regulation to forbid smoking in public areas. However, the government can also consider building some private spaces in public areas to facilitate smoker smoking. If so, the non- smokers will feel more comfortable doing activities in the public area, while the smokers also enjoy smoking. In conclusion, those who support the smoking ban in public spaces might be worried about health issues caused by smokers. On the other side, those who oppose that idea usually reject the discrimination against smokers ’ human right to smoke publicly. In my opinion, the government should ban this activity considering the potential of spawning health issues. Nevertheless, as suggested, the government can consider creating some private buildings to accommodate smokers smoking in the outdoor area.