Demand of food is increasing world wide. What is cause of this ?What measures can international community take to meet the demand?

It is no denying the fact that there is a surge in the global demand for food in recent years. One main reason is the population of the world climbs significantly. This essay will further elaborate on the causes and solutions of the given circumstance in the forthcoming paragraphs. To begin with, there is a multitude of reasons for this issue. The most important one is people can live longer with the breakthrough of science and technology in the medical field, thus more people living in the world and more food are needed naturally. For instance, a global report indicates that around 50 billion people in the world were 20 years ago. However, its rise to more than 70 billion nowadays. In another word, the demand for food increased by 40% at the same time. In order to solve this problem, the international community can encourage the public to plant some food in their gardens and should not waste food easily. To cite an example, many families in the US have a garden in their backyards, thus the government holds a course for housewives and retired elderly to teach them how to plant tomatoes and peppers there. Meanwhile, they also educate children and adolescents on the importance of saving food in primary and secondary schools. In a nutshell, to recapitulate the aforementioned origins and responses to this situation, the explosive global population causes the increasing demand for food. Yet, the government can take measures to teach citizens to ease the problem of food shortage.