Countries are becoming mor and more similar because people are able to buy the same products anywhere in the world. Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

At the age of globalization, nations around the world are increasingly getting similar as people can purchase an identical product in each location of the globe. Due to the cultural and economic consequences that this practice might have on local people, it would appear to be a negative development. Firstly, the afore-mention trend can affect local cultures negatively. This is because with the expansion of international companies presenting vast variety of products like customs and shoes, accompanied by persuasive methods of advertisement local people are likely to be impressed and thus tend to purchase clothing items other than ones that represent their local identity. consequently, a nations’ appearance, which is a great representative of its ethnic identity, would be replaced by universal uniforms, resulting in cultural crisis in the long term. Moreover, globalisation in many cases would lead to economic monopoly of a handful of transnational companies like Adidas and Nike that try to get complete control over the local markets in many countries worldwide. The domination of large companies can marginalize or even eradicate local small businesses, resulting in mass unemployment or even poverty in some cases. Although such procedure might initially seem beneficial for governments due to the huge amount of tax that they pay to states, it can ultimately deter a nation’s productivity and prosperity. In conclusion, the ubiquity of some products that enables people to purchase the same commodity in any part of the world, which results in gradual nation's similarity can be considered a harmful trend on the basis of its serious cultural and economic drawbacks for locals.