More and more students are choosing to study at colleges and universities in a foreign country. What are the advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad?

Nowadays, international students are increasingly widespread since more people think they will develop themselves in foreign developed countries. Being foreign students has its perks of improving their language proficiency, gaining knowledge, and having a lot of friends from multinational countries. Besides, the downsides when being a foreign student are homesickness and easily being discouraged which later leads to depression. The first convenience of studying in foreign country is improving their language skills. If they study abroad, they will be fluent in the language that country uses. Furthermore, the second benefit of studying abroad is gaining knowledge because they will absorb other cultures and traditions while they study abroad, they will learn a lot of lessons that are only available in the place where they are studying their knowledge will be expanded. Finally, making more friends is the benefit of studying abroad. For example when Hoa is a student in Singapore, she can make friends coming from many countries such as Malaysia, the Philippines, China and other countries. In conclusion, studying abroad has several advantages, like improving language ability, gaining knowledge, and having the opportunity to meet new people from all around the world. Studying abroad will also have three major disadvantages such as missing family and friends because studying abroad makes students miss their families and they may feel lonely, which is why it is easy to be discouraged. But discouraged will easily fall into unhealthy things. For example, Lan is a Japanese foreign student whose family is impoverished, her mother is critically ill, so she has been lured by bad friends to sell banned substances, she has been in prison for two years.Being discouraged will definitely lead students to unhealthy lifestyles. All in all, studying abroad in another nation with different cultures and customs will still be better for future development. As international students, they will have opportunities to improve their language skills, broaden their knowledge, and make friends from all over the world. On the other hand, there are negative aspects that will cause you to feel lonely, homesick, and quickly disheartened, and mental instability will cause them to tumble more readily.