Housing shortages in big cities can cause severe social consequences. Some people think that only government action can solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In metropolitan cities, the shortage of accommodation is turning into a severe burden for citizens and some are of the opinion that this issue can be tackled solely by the actions of a government. I completely agree with this argument and I will fortify my view in the following paragraphs.  One reason why I believe the government can deal with this problem is that it holds the right to imply new rules and policies and there are some sounding rules which would be logical to introduce. For example, if they apply a rule regarding the encouragement of the construction of high-rise buildings and prohibition of the old landed houses, more people can dwell in flats and this results in a considerable amount of land saving. In contrast, if the authority would not take such a precaution, there wouldn't be enough space for the forthcoming citizens.  Another outstanding solution would be enticing people, who live in the rural areas, away from migrating to big cities. In order to maintain this, power owners should convince or force factories and companies in relocating their businesses to these outskirts. By doing that, new job opportunities can be created for those who are desperately looking for ways to migrate with the hope of finding a job. As a result, local people might convince away from moving. For instance, in Istanbul, many big financial companies moved their headquarters to different cities and this significantly reduced the rate of migration to Istanbul. In conclusion, the shortage in housing evidently creates a crisis among the citizens of big cities, and I think, the role of government is essential due to their right to change laws in the ways of solving this crisis.