It is observed that in many countries not enough students are choosing to study science subjects. What are causes? And wat will be effects on society?

The number of admission into a science course has been at the trough in some countries. Factors responsible for this continuous trend and its societal implications will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, poor orientation to the sciences is a major reason why students don't want to study them. For example in Nigeria, there is a common myth that says only intelligent students who are excellent in maths can do well in a science discipline. Wrong information like this will only instil fear in the mind of students interested in the discipline and this has led to many students avoiding the course. Another significant factor contributing to this situation is insufficient employment opportunities for science students in such countries. Take for instance, a situation where graduates of the science's are the most unemployed in the community, young people will prefer to study a more lucrative course. The subsequent effect of not studying the sciences are innumerable. one is the delay in scientific and technological advancement. There will be no development in the country and it will result in depending on other nations' scientific development. Two, the community will remain a burden to developed nations to supply their technological requirements. This will involve spending a lot of money on importing technological devices from developed countries to optimize the quality of life for its citizens. In conclusion, inappropriate orientation to the course and absence or reduced job privileges are some of the reasons why students refuse to study a science -related subject while the societal implications are delayed development and being a burden to developed nations to meet their science and technological needs.