When choosing a job, the salary is the most important consideration. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Remuneration is a crucial aspect to consider when selecting a career. I strongly agree with this view considering that this does not only improves one's quality of life, it also enhances the employee’s focus. When a professional is well paid, it is easily noticed by their standard of living. A good income provides the luxury lifestyle one wants, ranging from a good car, convenient accommodation, daily needs in terms of food, a good school for children and so on. For instance, a neighbour of mine who has been staying in a room apartment with his wife and three children now lives in a three-bedroom flat with a piece of nice furniture after securing a position of General manager in an Oil and Gas company in Abuja just nine months ago. It is only natural for the taste of good life to increase once high-income rolls in frequently. Furthermore, there are many ways to motivate employees, high pay is top of the list. However, if workers appreciate what they do and they are highly paid for it, it doubles their motivation, hence bringing development to the organization. Even those that do not love their profession still find it difficult to quit the job because of the mouth-watering remuneration they receive. To illustrate, I watched a television program named TVC where a group of women were asked if they love their jobs. Half of those interviewed said they do not love what they do but they kept working because of the compensation. In conclusion, I strongly agree that a high salary is the most significant factor to consider while making a career choice. I recommend that every individual should make an enquiry about the remuneration before applying for employment.