The number of elderly people in the world is increasing. What do you think are the positive and negative effects of this trend?

In virtually all countries, the median age of people is rising when compared with decades ago. The population pyramid is more and more skewed to the top in developed countries in particular, reflecting elderly people are on a rise both in proportion and actual numbers. I am going to elaborate on the pros and cons of this worldwide trend in this essay. The most prominent benefit of this trend is that people can see their family longer. The main reason behind this cold age figure is that, there were neither big-scale wars nor lack of food in previous decades and thus men did not die early. With minimal objection, we can assume the aged wives must be happier with their husbands still living with them. Another positive consequence of the ageing population phenomenon is that, when people are living longer, they are trying to enjoy their life more than when they were younger. To them, every day counts. Some of them develop a new hobby, while others travel more to see places which they dreamt of visiting earlier. For example, there are actually a lot of piano classes targeting for oldies, and the classes are designed simple just for teaching them to play a song they like. On the flip side, with the population getting aged, the medical resources devoted to cope with this challenge are increasingly inadequate. Normal citizens, who are not affluent enough to pay for private medications, often need to wait in long lines to see doctors. They are consequently enduring endless pains or have their illness worsened by delays. Another surprising consequence of increasing elderly people is that, people are retiring later. They are willing to accept less to keep a job, and this creates challenges to young people who want to get hired. For example, in some European countries, youth unemployment can be as high as 40%. In conclusion, an ageing population seems to make the silver-hair happier after weighting all factors. Nonetheless, it also have drawbacks such as draining more medical resources and shifting job opportunities away from youngsters.