Which do you prefer: a high-paying job with long hours or a lower-paying job with shorter hours? Use specific reasons and details to support your answer.

In this modern era, competition is rising rapidly and as a result, people are opting for jobs with long working hours and higher wages to survive. Although working day and night helps them earn money, it leaves them with no leisure time to spend with family and friends. Personally, I feel I will always choose my family before anything else, so, I will opt for low paying job with shorter hours to spend time with my family. Firstly, more than money mental peace is important to me. If I am not happy with my workplace, and I am stressed out for most of the day, there is no way I can enjoy my salary. Perhaps, I will be spending more on my medical bills due to this. For instance, with busy schedules, I may not get enough time to sleep and exercise which can make me sick. Secondly, with work commitments, I will be missing most of the family events and I will be juggling between both work and social life. What is the point of earning money, if I cannot enjoy any free time with my family? Additionally, in long run, it will only distant me from my people. On the other hand, with jobs demanding short working hours, it becomes easier to balance life. Like, I can spend evenings with my family and friends; I can go on holiday. Moreover, I can take better care of myself too by doing exercises and other extra-curricular activities. Even though with less money, I feel I will be in a more happy and satisfying space. For example, if I am giving time to my kids, they will value me more and maybe this will make them more aware of what real happiness means. Nowadays, children have become distant from their parents because of their busy schedules. To conclude, we cannot deny the fact that financial stability is important but ignoring social life because of work can be harmful in long run. It can lead to depression and many other psychological health conditions. A person should try to strike a balance between the two in order to have a happy and fulfilling life.