Some believe that nuclear weapons benefit the world at large. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Nuclear weapons are weapons of mass destruction which don’t hold any positive value in the world.The nations owning such weapons have dominated the world by instilling fear. Moreover,the usage of these can result in devastating adverse effects.   Global power is determined by the amount of nuclear weapons amassed by different countries.In times of conflict and crisis,these destructive weapons in their possession are the barrier to an effective diplomatic response from those countries devoid of them.The nuclear threat posed by such countries is holding the world at a gun point. For example, the Russia-Ukraine war,the technology of destruction on Russia’s side was used as an aid for asserting power. Also,in a worst-case scenario where such weapons are misused,the extent of damage to humanity and the earth is beyond imagination.It has the potential to wipe of a significant portion of the population, result in long lasting severe diseases which could be even transmitted to a many next generations.The explosion could turn the environment uninhabitable for any form of living beings. For instance, Hiroshima and Nagasaki  bomb attacks are the depressing reminder of the destructive ability of atomic bombs.   To conclude,I believe that atomic fusion-powered weapons are the biggest threat to a peaceful world and can never benefit it in any way.The current powerful countries derive the strength from the fear of countries without such mass weapon. Furthermore,accidental or irresponsible use of these can even wipe off life from earth.