The number of overweight children in developed countries is increasing. Some people think that it is due to problems such as the growing number of fast-food outlets. Others believed that parents are to blame for not looking after their children’s health. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the last decade, exessive-weight children is gradually increasing in developed countries. Some dieticians claim that one of the reasons is due to a rise of junk food restaurants and others argued that parents neglect their children's health. I completely agree that expansion of unhealthy food stores are the main cause as they are easily accessable and cost effective. To begin with, more number of outlets provides an easy access to adolescents for preprocessed food. These outlets attract kids by their mouthwatering dishes, aroma, and advertisements. For example, Subway is now expanded to every corner in India which drastically increased intake of burgers, deep oil fries and so on. Moreover, increased number of canteens leads to regular consumtion of processed food which is directly link to obesity in children. To explain further, These unhealthy products contain extra amount of carbs, sugars and fatty oils which demands more exercise to burn them, but due to academics students do not have enough time for physical activities. As a result, additional fat stacks in a stomach that put on more weight in kids. In addition to that, commercial businesses offer promotions and discounted prices to attrack adolescents. Discounted prices are cost effective compared to healthy food option due to which juveniles inclined toward buying packaged food. As an example, Dominos new branch provides discount offers across the year for school-going students. In addition to offers, teenagers stop cooking their food due to availability of more restaurants, they pick up meals from nearest stores that saves some time for additional activities. Thus, fast- food outlets are reasons for unhealthy eating habits that leads to obesity. Finally, to reacpitulate, Although some people claim parents neglect their kids is a reason for overweight in them; however, In my opinion, growing number of junk- food stores is a major reason as it attracts adolescents by it ads and promotions.