Overpopulation of urban area has led to numerous problems. Identift one ot two serious ones and suggest ways that governments and individuals can tackle these problems.

Overpopulation is one of the largest issues of big cities in all countries, this increase in residents has caused various issues one of them being a rise in crime rates. In the following essay the reasons will be discussed, along with proposed appropriate solutions. In any country in the world after a city has had a sudden surge of people moving there, shortly after a hike in criminal activities is often observed. These activities range from petty crimes such as minor theft all the way to major organized crime syndicates being established, which brings about drug and weapon trading. Expensive living costs in these metropolitan areas due to the overpopulation, directly correlates to the escalation of illegal acts by the local populace. Due to them needing an extra source of money, so they can continue to match the costs of surviving. One way a government can reduce these issues is by providing more jobs in, and surrounding the area. These work positions however must come with a fair salary and also provide adequate chances of career progression, to stop people turning to criminal enterprise as a means of income. Alongisde these oppurtunities community focused education should be carried out as a supplementary process to halt the antisocial behaviour happening. These measures would encourage the citizens to be law abdiding as they would have no need for more money, moreover they would also understand that following the law results in a safer and more desirable society to live in. In conclusion the burden of overpopulation in cities causes living costs to spiral out of control, giving rise to soaring crime rates and danger for the citizens. Combined efforts from the local council and the government to offer sufficiently waged work along with outreach programs to people will work as a solution to this problem.