Some people think that couples should live together before getting married to start knowing each other better and see if they are compatible. Others say that because of this tendency people become immoral and only deep emotional attachment makes a durable alliance. What is your opinion?

In recent times, cohabitation by partners before a wedding has become a topic of widespread concern. While some people believe that this practice encourages compatibility discovery, Others are of the opinion that it promotes immorality and also may not guarantee a long-lasting bond. I agree with the latter view as cohabitation has no moral justification. Those that support the idea claim that living together before marriage helps the persons involved to know if they are really compatible. In other words, they believe that when partners cohabit, it gives them ample opportunity to know each other's personality, weaknesses and strengths which enables those involved to weigh their individual capacity to cope before they finally agree to walk down the aisle. However, I would argue that this is not a good approach to marriage. Firstly, when people live together for a while before getting married, they tend to lack the ability to objectively study each other and this could be attributed to the fact that they may be engaging in pre-marital sex which has an ability to give an erroneous feeling of fondness thereby masking some red flags. This means that the early sexual intimacy may provide an atmosphere which does not give room for objective reasoning needed for decision making. Furthermore, this practice can enhance the transmission of sexually transmitted diseases and HIV. This implies that cohabitation before marriage increases the chances of contracting these diseases as most people may not be able to go for medical laboratory investigations becoming sexually intimate nor be able to practice safe sex. For instance, A recent survey on HIV/AIDS carried out in Nigeria has shown that the infections is mostly recorded among couples that lived together before marriage In conclusion, Although living together before a wedding may be deemed necessary by others, I am of the opinion that it doesn't give room for studying each other well which makes divorce inevitable and it can as well further the spread of sexually transmitted infection and HIV.