it is more important for government to spend public funds on promoting a healthy lifestyle than treatment. do you agree of disagree?

A controversy has been aroused these days on whether the direction of government spending should be inclined towards a medical treatment or preventive measures to promote healthier lifestyles. As far as I am concerned, I am on the camp that more resources should be lean on promoting healthiness. Traditionally, almost all budget in healthcare was spent on building hospitals, training medical practitioners and purchasing medicines and equipment. However, the burden is getting heavier every year due to an ageing population and we need a new way out. Instead, we can consider building more sports facilities to encourage citizens to take more exercise themselves, together with advertisements to educate them about the hazards of sweet, oily food, we may reduce the chance the public gets heart diseases. We can also remind people to drink more water hopefully to avoid kidney problems, and the relationship between smoking and lung cancer as well. A primary benefit of these promotional activities is that they are more economical. Common wisdom suggests that, sports facilities for amateurs are cheaper than hospitals. Spending money on advertisements can be cheap, considering part of the campaign can be put on TV programmes of government-owned broadcasting companies whose air time is actually free. Other measures can be free of charge too. For example, setting up laws requiring energy ingredients and warning words to be shown on food labels does not cost the government money. A tax on tobacco even can generate tax income to subsidize other health promotion campaigns. Moreover, when patients are more health-conscious, they may discover their illness in an earlier stage, in which they have a higher chance of achieving a complete recovery. Hopefully, not only do patients endure fewer pain and trouble but the doctors can also spend fewer man-hours on the patients too. This consequently shortens the queues of hospitals. In conclusion, I consider spending money on health education is imperative, as it can slow down the ballooning of the medical budget and reduce the average man-hours of patients involved in the medical system.