In the past, sporting champions used to be motivated primarily by the desire to win a match or to break world records. These days they are more likely to be motivated by prize money and the opportunity to be famous. What message does this send to young people and how does this attitude to sport affect the sports themselves? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the bygone days, an athlete aimed to win a competition or to set a new world record. Nowadays, it has changed, as many players are motivated by the prize and the popularity. The following essay will discuss how the effect of the changes on the young generation and how it has affected the sports industry. To begin with, It is clearly shown today that athletes ' motivation has changed. it brings some pessimistic effects to young people who are interested in sports. It is a fact that football and basketball players are more highly paid and more famous these days. The condition has led them to have a luxurious lifestyle. Moreover, Young people who watch them as idols will want money and be famous. Meanwhile, in the past, athletes ’ motivation was to be the best in their field and become good role models for the young generation with their hardworking attitude. As professional players are highly paid today. it has changed the paradigm of the sports industry. Sports leagues become commercialized as they need the money to pay these athletes. Ticket prices are ridiculously expensive, and during a live game on television, so many commercials are added. And then, many games are showing more of an individual attraction rather than solid teamwork, as each of the athletes is trying to become the dominant player. And last but not least, many sports leagues are filled with negative issues nowadays due to commercialization, such as athletes ' strikes on salary caps or corruption by some sports bodies. In conclusion, it is true that sports have become an attractive business nowadays. Many athletes are well paid and sports leagues have become a great opportunity for some parties. Despite all the fortunes, the pure essences of sports which are sportive, teamwork, and discipline are all lost. Athletes are becoming more individualistic and have some negative lifestyles and it could be a bad example for the young generation. And then sports industrialization has negatively affected many sports organizations. Therefore it is the government’s task to set some clear regulations in the world of sport.