Under British and Australian laws a jury in a criminal case has no access to information about the defendant's past criminal record. This protects the person who is being accused of the crime. Some lawyers have suggested that this practice should be changed and that a jury should be given all the past facts before they reach their decision about the case. Do you agree or disagree?

Many attorneys have said the practice of preventing the jury to get information on previous criminal record of the defendant before reaching their verdict about the case should be dropped. Because human beings have the perception of the reality heavily influenced by cognitive biases, I do not agree on this proposal. Humans are hard-wired to perceive the reality according to their own, personal judgement. Changing this way of reasoning requires a constant exercise of self-awareness. Someone who was exposed to a specific fact will use that fact as a judgmental compass, when exposed to a similar situation in the future. Members of a jury are human beings like anyone else; they are prone to failures, to preconceptions, so the Justice system must purse a reality as closest as possible to the neutrality. On the other, some lawyers think otherwise: the system must provide all the information about preterit records, on the grounds of helping the jury to understand who the defendant is. They are unaware, not having in mind previously discussed biases, an innocent person can be condemned solely because she committed a crime in the past; conversely, a criminal can be let off because she has a pristine past record. An action in good faith can result in more injustice; therefore in more criminality. In conclusion, even though those who stand for more openness on information when it comes to criminal records of the accused, in good faith, thinking that is the right way to provide justice; that is not an ineffective way to deal with this issue because it does not add human flawed perception of the reality, that is the cognitive biases.