In many parts of the world there are now more and more multi-generational households. eg where grandparents live with parents and children than in the past. What do you think are the reasons for this? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

In today's modern society, there is an increase in the number of extended families living under the same roof. Therefore, this essay will discuss the reasons and explain my opinions about the positive development of this trend. There are two main reasons for the appearance of multi-generational families. Firstly, grandparents can help parents take care of their children. In fact, many workers are busy with their hectic working lives that they can not able to spend time raising their children successfully, so grandparents, the retirement age, can support this aspect by monitoring children's study results. Moreover, the adults take responsibility for looking after their parents as well. The old sometimes might lack the abilities to accomplish many simple activities in life especially when they are sick, they need to have families around and taking care of them is essential. Besides many negative effects, this trend can bring two important benefits to society. First of all, it might reduce the demand for the dwelling house because of the rise of more people living in one house. As a result, the price of housing can be minimised somehow, so the young can afford to purchase one at a more reasonable price. Secondly, it is a vital way to prolong the traditions and legacies of that region. For instance, making Non La - one of the unique items in Vietnam has been maintained and enhanced by passing this technique from life to life. In conclusion, taking care of others is the key factor to the growth of multi-generational households. In my opinion, the traditions and the house pricing are the merits of this development for the public.