Many jobs require ongoing training and research to stay competitive in a world with rapidly evolving information and technology. Some believe that it is the responsibility of businesses to pay for this training for their staff while others feel it is up to the individual. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Nowadays, information and technology are integral skills and knowledge that each employee needs to constantly upgrade to keep up with the developing business world. However, there are strong arguments about who should take the responsibility for the upgrade costs, whether employers or the staff themselves, which we will discuss here. First, to adapt to the adjustments in the information and technology spheres, companies should play an active role in sponsoring their employees to study the new knowledge if they do not want their business to go backwards and reduce profits. For example, the FIAT automobile company partnered with Strayer University to offer its dealership employees the opportunity to enhance their computer skills free of charge. As a result, according to 2017 data, participating dealers experienced 17% higher revenue growth than nonparticipating dealers. Moreover, if employers pay the fees for their staff to boost their qualifications, they will obtain their commitment to work for the company for a longer time. For instance, the 2017 report of the Ab company, after two years invested in their employees’ advanced information and technology, saw a nearly 40% higher employee retention compared to 2014’s figure. On the other hand, each individual should be aware that upgrading their qualifications is an investment in their future, ranging from a better position and higher salary to new jobs. In a recent survey conducted by ABC University, an employee with professional qualifications combined with proficiency in computer skills will have the opportunity to retain a job with a 20% higher salary than someone with the same qualifications. Besides, to keep themselves more valuable and prolong their working lives, people should always research and improve their knowledge of their expertise areas as well as technology and information areas. In conclusion, companies need skilled workers, so they should be the ones to pay for their employees to get better qualifications.