Some people think that newly built houses should follow the style of old houses in local areas. Others think that people should have freedom to build houses of their own style. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A few people believe that new constructions planned to be constructed in local areas like the old city centres should have a similar fashion to their precursors. On the other hand, however, there are some other thoughts and the rest advocate the opposite thought. They believe that architects should be free to make their sketches while designing a new house. Both arguments will be discussed from the author’s own point of view in this essay. Everything is getting older, and so are the buildings, and they need to be reconstructed or renovated in time. It is a known fact that the ‘up-coming should follow the precursor’; therefore, the new buildings constructed in the (districts) regions like the city centres should be similar to each other and local authorities should make some restrictions to the exterior layouts of the buildings; therefore, their habitants and architects are still free to plan the interior designs throughout the borders of their imagination. Besides, a survey from Chicago Community Relations has reported the result supplementing these old-fashioners, in which 60% of the Chicago citizens attending the survey answered that they preferred to see old-fashioned buildings in the central areas if it was planned to build new houses. There are, of course, other thoughts in the community(society), that is, some others think that landlords should be free to make their own constructions since they own the (field) place. Modern buildings have plenty of positive sides when compared to the old-fashioned constructions, like a better isolation and a more cost-effective layout, though as the author I believe that there should be no modern buildings near (next to) an old-fashioned one. For instance, in Ankara, (the capital of Turkey) a major city of Turkey, there are lots of beautiful ‘Republic Style Ankara Houses’ and ‘Ottoman Style Houses’, but these beauties can easily be overlooked due to the ‘modern skyscrapers’. I think these modern buildings should be constructed outside the city centres or in a new residential area. In conclusion, people may have different ideas about the new buildings constructed in local areas and some kinds of common beliefs should be found to reach most of the community’s (wants) wishes (preferences). In addition, I believe regional authorities should prescribe the architectural style of the old settlements according to the styles of the existing houses.