Many supermarkets are selling more and more products that are imported from other countries instead of selling food that is locally sourced. What are the reasons for this? Is this a positive or negative development?

A considerable number of products are being imported and sold by the shopping malls from other countries rather than buying from it locally. I believe this method has several reasons, such as high profit, range of products and availability for the supermarkets, and benefits, namely range of the product for the customers, huge customer's crowd for the malls. To begin with reasons, there are several factors behind purchasing the product from outside of the country instead of locally for the shopping centres. High profit is one of the primary reasons. The supermarkets tend to save billions of money, due to the low product cost, less currency rates and cheap labour from the other countries. Secondly, range of product is a vital reason too. Because of people's different tastes and expectations, shopping centres require to import from different countries that are not available in local. Hence, to fullfil customers' needs and to earn high financial benefits, shopping centres have to focus more on importing international products. Moreover, I believe the methodology of putting high importance on purchasing products from the outside country instead of the local has positive development. Firstly, customers can get the benefit of a range of products at a low price. The shopping malls can only get different types of products at cheaper rate from the outside of the country as a huge number of varieties cannot be produced locally and if it is been produced, it could not be pocket friendly. A daily crowd of people is a core benefit too for the shopping markets as it cannot be denied that variety of products can easily attract people with different tastes for shopping. Thus, any supermarket can boost their sales by selling not only people's choice but also advertising other products. In conclusion, high income and people's different tastes are vital points for importing maxium products from around the world by the shopping malls instead buying it locally, which I think is a postive change. The result of this is benefit of a range of products to the people and advantage of a huge customer's crowd to the malls.