Sugary drinks should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is often believed that sweet drinks should be made less affordable to encourage individuals to intake less sugar. I totally agree with this statement as I think that consuming a lot of sugar causes health deterioration. To begin with, it is true that the obesity rate has been rising recently. This is mainly because of increased sugar consumption. To illustrate, a notable study conducted by Korea University revealed a strong connection between the rate of sugar intake and obesity. The more people become friendly to sweet drinks, the more they get in danger of obesity. Moreover, cheap sugary beverages are also disadvantageous to the elderly who are highly sensitive to diabetes as they culminate in prevailed diabetes problem. Hence, an effective deterrent to buying sugary drinks is needed. Furthermore, sweet drinks should be made more high-priced because it can be a driving force behind stimulating the public to drink fresh water. To be specific, they will choose to consume water which is overly inexpensive compared to sweet beverages as they think water is cost-effective. For instance, if a Coke costs a fortune, customers are reluctant to buy it. They may think that consuming other drinks with no sugar contained and low price is the better option as they are not only healthy but also cheap. Thus, changing the price of sweet beverages is considerable. To conclude, I firmly believe that drinks with a lot of sugar should be costly to deter people from consuming them too much. Therefore, governments have to impose caps on beverage companies to set their sales price at a higher level.