Some companies sponsor sports as a way to advertise themselves.Some people think it is good while others think there are disadvantages to this, Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Nowadays, business establishments use sports competitions as a medium to publicize products. Although, some people believe there are drawbacks to this,others think it would benefit the teams and companies.In the forthcoming paragraphs,I will discuss both sides of the argument in detail and provide reasons why it is more beneficial. The main benefit of funding sports events is that it provides increased media awareness for companies and their brand. For example,the Arsenal football club of England is being funded by an airline company called the Emirates, so the inscription "fly Emirates" is boldly written on their jersey, and other equipment. Secondly,these business agencies provide free equipment and also handle players' finances which they cannot afford. For instance, in Nigeria, there is a Pepsi football camp which supports young children aspiring to be football starsTherefore, organisations sponsoring team players or sports events in other to have their products advertised is not a bad idea. On the other hand, there are some who beg to differ, for reasons that a player or players might misbehave would represent the company badly. Similarly,advertising of brands by agencies can be distracting to the participants not excluding the spectators also.To illustrate, some contestants notwithstanding the competition ahead, would participate in television interviews, and photograph sections for these companies instead of practising for the coming event. Consequently,affecting the team's performance during the competition. In conclusion, in this essay, I discussed that the popularity of a brand is at its peak when the corporation provides support to sports competitions although sometimes it can be inconvenient.Personally, I believe these sports organisations require funds to achieve their purpose,so promoting company brands is a preferable way for it to be accomplished.