Nowadays many people want to buy famous brands of cloth, cars and other items. what are the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In recent times, many folks prefer to buy branded items such as clothes, cars, etc. Good quality and a status symbol are some reasons for this. I think it has both positive and negative effects which will be covered in this essay. Talking about positives, good product quality is the major reason why customers prefer to buy branded items. Famous brands ensure to provide the best quality product to prove their worth to their customers. For instance, in my personal experience, when I bought a branded pair of shoes from a famous brand like Nike, Reebok, etc, it remained in perfect condition for a good number of years whereas local shoes tear within a few months of use. Thus, the major reason behind consumers shifting towards a brand is its good quality product. However, buying branded stuff has a major downside which cannot be ignored. It has become a tool to get a status symbol and social recognition due to which individuals only prefer to purchase branded items. This trend is more common in youth as they buy brands to get maximum attention in their group. For example, in colleges, youngsters flaunt their branded clothes, accessories, cars etc. to stand out among their friends. Moreover, sometimes they look down upon those people who do not wear branded items. So in such cases, it becomes an obligation for such kids to buy branded goods. Hence, buying branded items can cause certain negative effects on society. To conclude, though people are shifting towards famous brands to get good quality products but buying them for the sake of social recognition is a negative development. That is why I believe it has both positive and negative aspects of it.