In the future, there will be a higher proportion of older people than younger people in many countries. Why is this? Is this a positive or negative development?

It is predicted that there will be more elderly than the youth in many nations in the coming years. It is happening due to the modern research and technology in the field of medicines. The increased population of senior citizens will have both positive and negative effects. To begin with, the medical science is advancing day by day by using latest research data and technological knowledge. As a result, the life expectancy has soared because many deadly diseases are now curable. For instance, the treatment of cancer is available these days in the form of chemotherapy and radiotherapy which saves millions of lives every year. Similarly, the development of vaccines for many dangerous diseases has proven beneficial in saving people from dying and increasing their life-spans. Take, the case of Covid 19, for example, in the beginning of the pendamic the death rate was dramatically high. However, a significant drop can be seen in the number of deaths after the invention of vaccine for this illness. Hence, the success of medical field is allowing people to enjoy longer lives. Having a higher proportion of the old generation can be seen as advantageous as well as troublesome. On the positive side, the elderly will benefit youngsters from their experience and advice. For instance, in the employment sector, the younger generation will make exceptional progress by the assistance of their senior colleague. On the contrary, the greater percentage of old people in a population will put an additional burden on the government. For example, Japan has the highest population of the elderly in the world. Its government has to spend millions of dollars on pention pensions and social benefits to old people which is causing financial strain on the authorities of this nation. In conclusion, thanks to the advancements in medical science as it has increased the lifespan of people. If the older population is higher than the younger people in the future, youth will improve their productivity by the help of the eldery but the government has to face an economic crisis.