Nowadays many people choose to be self-employed, rahter than to work for a company or organisation. Why might this be the case? what could be the disadvantage of being self-employed?

With COVID-19 the work force environment has changed drastically with many individuals wanting to work for themselves instead of being part of a big organisation or company. This essay will analyse how self-employment allows control of ones working hours as the main reason for this and how many lack the skill set to be self- emplyed as the prominent drawback. To begin with, being your own boss allows individuals to create working hours around their current life with their prior existing commitments which are paramount to fulfilled fulfilling fulfille. Therefore, this permits single working mothers or fathers to take care of their children while still earning a living. As many jobs require strict starting and finishing times which overlap with school timing, flexibility can be achieved by working independently, thus, making it possible to pick and drop their children to school or daycare. Moreover, having autonomy over ones’ hours of work makes it probable set a routine, and pick up hobbies, which are crucial for workers mental health leading to and imporvement in their quality of work. To illustrate this argument, a 2022 study conducted by Oxford University revealed that self-employment has allowed more than 2000 successful businesses to open up in the recent year. However, working for oneself is impossible for every individual as they are lack the skill set required to run a successful business. Since running a one requires far more knowledge than simply knowing how to sell products, it requires the person to have adequet knowledge of financial management, leadership skills and critical thinking, all of which are taught at university. Therefore, if those wanting to start a working business do not have a degree in buisness management then their efforts would be in vain. Additionally, the mental strain which comes along with being your own boss is often never taken into consideration, though it is a major contributing factor to self-employment. Those who are unable to handle stressfull regressions in their line of work are improbable to succeed. For instance, a 2021 survey by Harvard showed that 70% of workers who quit their corporate jobs to be self employed have lost 80% of their revenue due to insufficient business skills. To recapitulate, many workers currently working in massive organisations would prefer to switch to being their own boss due to the complete contol over their schedule. Though this is allouring allowing it is only possible if the individual has proper skills to run and maintain a business, if not then it is as major con.