children nowadays watch significantly more television than those in the past which reduces the activity level accordingly why is this the case what measures can you suggest to encourage higher level of activity among children give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own experience

Nowadays, children are arguably staying at home in front of the television more than decades before. and their lack of exercise is worrisome to plenty of people. In this essay, I will shed some light on the causes and possible solutions to this problem. The reasons why young people are sticking with their televisions are manifolds. First of all, children at these ages are naturally inquisitive about everything happening in the world, and the content broadcasted is just well-designed to catch their attention. In addition, peer influence matters. When they go to school, those children who did not watch television the day before may have no topics to discuss with their classmates. Last but not the least, the crime situation deteriorates quite a bit in recent years. As a result, parents are less comfortable with their kids going out to play themselves. For example, the knife assault problem is serious in the UK and in winter the sky is dark very early. In the wake of this, a friend of mine even takes his daughter to school every morning, let alone let his child go out herself. In the US, matters are even worse as gunshots are just everywhere. To tackle this unwelcome trend, we can try it in multiple ways. Firstly, schools can increase the number of physical education lessons, and introduce various types of sports exercises to students. Hopefully it can arouse students' interest in some of these and so they would keep on exercising on their own in the future. Higher frequencies of police patrol should also be arranged after school hours, ideally around parks and sports centres, so as to alleviate parents' worries. In conclusion, the addiction to television programmes by young children is quite natural considering they are well-designed to attract, and the situation is exacerbated by the worsening crime problem. To mitigate this trend, we need more physical education lessons from schools, and the police to take up more responsibilities to give confidence to parents.