Nowadays, some buildings such as offices and school have open space design instead of seperate rooms. Why is it so? Do you think it is a positive development or negative?

Nowadays, a new trend ramps up in working spaces and schools regarding their interior design. A big open area is now more popular than in the past. As far as I am concerned, I think this change has it merits and should be welcomed. The predominant reason for the wider adoption of an open area is the ascending trend of working from home. In the past, every employee in the office has his own desk, with a separate computer on it. Starting two years ago, companies are more open-minded about letting employees work from home some of the time. The office space is now filled with long tables, and those employees who need to check in on a particular day just find their own seat, which is not fixed. Meeting rooms are still available for booking to the needy, but undeniably the rooms required are fewer than before. As for schools, some tuition schools now prefer to have big theatres for students to have lectures or even watch videos, in order to save costs for teachers. The saved costs can consequently be used to reduce price and entice more students to join. The immediate advantage of this trend is that, a smaller area is now needed and companies and schools can save rent. This is even more meaningful to the top-graded companies as rent is expensive in prime areas. In addition, in a lot of areas in the world, heating costs or air-conditioning costs are massive, the smaller area occupied and the more centralized design help to conserve energy and contribute to a smaller energy bill. Nevertheless, it is not free of problems. Working in open spaces sometimes leads to inadequate communication as meeting rooms are often occupied. If the material discussed is confidential, a lack of face-to-face communication may lead to a drop in efficiency. In conclusion, the fact that offices are having more open space is meritful to me, as the potential hazards can be solved by reserving more meeting rooms in the office design stage.