ncreasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems. To what extent do you agree or disagree? What other measures do you think might be effective?

Upliftment of petrol price -tag is considered to be the prime method to answer the traffic and pollution. In my belief, this will create a lot of other problems among countries due to an increase in inflation and it will reduce the foreign remittance of a country. Hence, I totally disagree with the captioned statement. However, the introduction of electric cars and the improvement of road structure to reduce traffic can be considered to be a major solution to get rid of this traffic and air pollution issues. To commence with, rising the petrol prices will increase the inflation of a country by affecting the transport cost of the products. Therefore, that will badly affect the poor individual in a country. Other than that, most of these petrol sheds are run by multinational companies and this price hike will increase their revenue, flowing more money out from the country. For instance,in acountry like Pakistan, all the petrol sheds are run by multinational companies and they get a quote from the litre price and increasing the petrol price will increase their revenue leading to more money flowing out from the country. Therefore, increasing the petrol price creates pathways for other severe problems. Whereas, other measures such as reducing the tax on electric cars will increase the environmentally friendly motor vehicles in a country, and that will heal the air pollution problem in a nation. Other than that, the construction of byways, flyovers and underground crossings can reduce the traffic and result in low petrol consumption. For instance, according to the Sri lankan environmental authority air pollution report in 2021 and 2022, a noticeable reduction was appealed in the report of 2023 in the Kalaniya area after a reduction of traffic in that area due to the new flyover. Hence, improving the popularity of electric vehicles, and initiatives for traffic reduction will reduce petrol consumption. In conclusion, increasing the fuel price will not be a better option to reduce traffic, and air pollution as that may intend to push inflation up and reduce the foreign remittance in a country. However, the introduction of electrically powered vehicles and improvement in road structure will be a good motive to tackle this problem. Hence, this writer fully disagrees with the notion that Increasing the price of petrol is the best way to solve growing traffic and pollution problems.