To be labelled a ‘Work of Art’, a painting, sculpture or other art form should display certain qualities that are unique. However, over the past century there has been a decline in the quality of prize-winning artwork and it is now possible for quite ordinary pieces of art to be labelled ‘masterpieces ’ whilst true works of art pass unnoticed. Do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are many people that believe that art in any form should fulfil some criteria to be considered as such, while there are others that think that art has changed its form, and is valued differently than it was in previous centuries. I strongly disagree with the latter statement, and in this essay, I will explain my view. To begin with, people should be educated about art from a younger age. This means that if the right guidance and knowledge about art are provided to young people in their upbringing, the more they will be able to appreciate it later in life. In addition, through educational means people can make a difference and define the original form of art. Furthermore, governments and institutions should promote the value of art. Museums are one of the main attractions for tourists, although many local people visit the museums regularly in their countries too. For example, in a recent survey conducted by the magazine " Artist Networks", it was stated that the foremost reason people visited museums was because of the ancient artists, and their most famous works. Moreover, art galleries should be more selective in displaying new artists' work. This means that by doing so they can educate the public taste in art, by having a deeper understanding of the basic concepts of true artistic work. In conclusion, although the definition of art had caused disputes between new artists and art critics. I believe that people and institutions can do more in distinguishing the pure form of art, and also encourage the public in gaining a deeper knowledge of art history.