Some people say that music is a good way of bringing people of different cultures and ages together. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion?

Music is diversifying in this contemporary era. It is believed by a number of individuals that melody is an effective means of uniting the populace from different cultural backgrounds and generations. Nonetheless, I, completely agree with this point of view because songs have the power to influence one’s feelings and bring about global language. To begin with, music has the ability to evoke a wide range of emotions in the listeners such as sadness, anger and happiness regardless of their country of origin. Although songs may be incomprehensible due to the language barrier, their melody is linguistically neutral. This implies that one does not need to understand the language used before the listeners enjoy the song. In Nigeria for instance, most citizens love Chinese pop songs whereas others may shed tears on a melancholic piece of music written by a Korean Artist. Therefore, music has a universal language that transcends all cultural boundaries. Furthermore, music is a common ground for people to understand each other irrespective of age. In recent times, youngsters have access to songs released decades ago and find them interesting like rage, rap and disco, while the older generation tends to fancy modern music such as hip-hop and TikTok. For example, in 2019 when a popular actor Olu Jacob celebrated his 90th birthday, it was graced by both old and young and songs from divergent generations were played by the disc jockey to entertain the audience. Evidently, age has no constraints on musical enjoyment. In conclusion, music has a great influence on bonding individuals around the globe. I, totally agree with this opinion because an individual's genre, as well as culture, has no restrictions on their emotions and perception towards any type of opera.