Many people today do not feel safe either at home or when they are out. What are the causes? What are the solutions?

Nowadays, many people are worried about their safety in both their houses and outer spaces. In this essay, I will explore the roots of this common concern and propose relative possible solutions. To begin with causes, the main reason why people feel unsafe in their homes can be the recent massive house destruction in some areas around the world, resulting from severe natural disasters such as extremely fast storms. The most prominent examples of these catastrophes were witnessed in some regions in the US after brutal tornadoes which caused numerous fatalities and completely destroyed existing homes in these areas. Consequently, some reports claimed that people's sense of safety has decreased dramatically in areas with similar climates. Another root of the issue is set to be air pollution, especially in overcrowded cities like Los Angeles in the US which can raise concerns about heart-related diseases. Some medical researches show that the rate of cardiovascular diseases resulting from detrimental fumes has increased in recent years, especially among vulnerable groups including children and the elderly. Thus, it seems quite natural for people to be worried about their health conditions. Turning two possible solutions, for house demolition, the most effective remedy would be sustainable development. To elaborate, besides selecting suitable sites for further housing constructions, which are away from areas prone to environmental hazards, home-builders should respect all safety measures related to home building. Had not been for the selection of appropriate fields for housing development, some communities would not have experienced dramatic bereavement and gotten their shelter wiped out and the fear of such sadness would not have been disseminated to other areas. Regarding air pollution, the problem would probably be mitigated by replacing fossil fuels with renewable energy, the recent epitome of which is hybrid and electric cars which are said to have decreased air pollution noticeably in some European cities. Given that, the general public, especially susceptible groups would not be concerned about their health. In conclusion, people's worries about their safety in their houses and outdoor environments mainly stem from the unstable physical status of their houses and polluted open spaces. However, these issues can be dealt with by more resilient construction and the replacement of green energy.