In recent years, many small local shops have closed because customers travel to large shopping centres or malls to do their shopping. Is this a positive or negative development?

It is undoubtedly that more and more people focus on going shopping in a big mall or in a shopping centre instead of going to small local shops. Some people believe it is a development of our society, while others argue that doing shopping in local shops is more convenient. From my point of view, I think it is a great positive development to buy things from shopping centres or malls. Firstly, It is very convenient to do shopping in one big place. In other words, you can buy all that you want to buy at one time, and no need to visit two or even three local shops. For instance, I can buy a big wash machine in Big W, and I can also purchase a small pencil and T-shirt in Kmart at the same time, all of the shops are located in Eastgardents. Secondly, It is more economical to buy things in a big centre or mall. For example, you don't need to drive to three or maybe four areas to buy those things. That is to say, we can save petrol and make less pollution to the air. Moreover, it is common that the price of the same stuff such as a ruler in a small shop is higher than the price in a big supermarket, which makes you spend fewer dollars on charging. Although some drawbacks brought by the development of big malls or shopping centres, I still reckon that advantages overcome its shortcomings. To sum up, never should we neglect what we have discussed above, I firmly hold the view that it is a big advantage of going shopping in big malls or big shopping areas. As a result, governments and society as a whole should take actions to address these issues.