Some people feel that countries should produce most of the food that is eaten in their country and import as little as possible. Why might this be the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative situation?

In this modern world, due to globalization the trade of edibles between nations is drastically increased. Some global affairs departments claim that nations should curb eatables imports by growing their own food. In my perspective, the reason for their viewpoint, may be to reduce dependency on other countries for meals; however, in my opinion it have more drawbacks that are explored in the below paragaraphs paragraph. To commence with, Although a plethora of reasons to support in-house food production such as less dependency and provides more employment are the top in the list. First and foremost, when nations start self-production of groceries they no need to import these goods from foreign countries which curbs huge import taxes. For example, every year the Canada government spends more than 10% of annual budget on importing edible goods. Moreover, relying on others may lead to food scarcity during wars, natural disasters, or global conflicts. To avoid,as a precaution, authorities could make self sustainbility arrangements by motivating farmers to grow as per local demand, as a result, that not only curbs imports but also provides more jobs in agriculture sector. On the other hand, most countries across the globe depends on other countries for their food because they do not have proper infrastructure and supporting weather. To begin with, some countries might have fertile soil but they should import fertilizers, machinery and chemicals from their neighbours which is more expensive than importing groceries. As an example the Srilanka imports all fertilizers from Canada as they do not have manufacturing units. In addition to infrastructure, most countries climate do not support all types of crops as a result they received recieve them from other parts of the world. To illustrate, the Canada is not suitable for growing dates as it requires hot climate through out the year, consequently, they end up getting it from Dubai. Finally, to recapitulate, undoubtedly, it is a better idea to grow crops to fullfill local necessities rather than importing it from friendly nations; however, in my opinion due to the aforementioned reasons governments may not be able to implement this in a near future, it requires economy to build infrastructure and technoloy advancements to farm all crops in all weather.