Some people think that the increasing use of computers and mobile phones for communication have a negative impact on young people’s writing and reading skills. Do you agree or disagree?

Recent years witnessed rapid advancement in technology by making communication easier and this has made some people opine that the continuous use of computers and cellphones by youngsters as a means of communication will adversely affect their reading and writing skill. I am a strong proponent of this opinion and the reasons why I support the motion will be discussed in this essay. To begin with, technological advancement has made communication very easy because unlike in past years when people have to write letters and send them through the post office, people can now communicate with their families and friends using their cellphones and through social media platforms on the computer. For example, with the mobile phone people can call their friends or colleagues at work in any part of the world and disseminate information without having to write. This has made writing and reading neglected skills among youngsters. Although while communicating using various social media platforms such as WhatsApp, Facebook and tweeter people write. Most mobile phones and computers have dictionaries which help to automatically correct wrong spelling. For, instance while typing on the computer and a word is spelt wrongly the computer will correct the spelling whereas the writer will not know that what was spelt is wrong, hence he/she Will not know how to spell words correctly when writing. This has negatively affected the ability to write and read appropriately among students. Moreso, the use of slang and abbreviated words when chatting has adversely affected the ability to read and write because they make communication faster they are therefore addicted to it. A survey carried out in Ghana last year revealed that students now abbreviate even in exams. This is so because they are used to abbreviating when chatting. In conclusion, using computers and mobile phones to communicate has made communication very easy but it has a significant negative impact on young people by affecting their ability to read and write.