Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this

Nowadays, it is commonly believed that schools should teach children to be good society members. Others think that this value should be taught by the parents at home. I personally believe that the ‘right thing’ is dependent on the definition of a ‘good member of society. It is common to believe that not questioning the law is the right thing, listening to the government or just volunteering are key concepts in defining the ultimate ‘good member of society. I believe that a ‘good member of society is an individual that is capable of critical thinking and has strong ethical values. That is because neither the law nor the government is always right. The average school is an institution that cannot teach critical thinking skills almost by definition. It is meant to teach children to grow up, and eventually, just become part of the regular members working class, that is not capable of thinking independently and asking questions, to prevent workers’ revolt. In addition, most schools are sponsored by the government, thus teaching critical thinking at school comes in a contradiction to the sponsor’s interests. Parents, unlike schools, are freer to give their children the education they believe is right. This includes good ethics, critical thinking skills and other crucial skills that are not included in the regular curriculum (such as time and financial management). Thus, if those skills won’t be given to the children in school, it is crucial for the parents to teach those at home. In conclusion, considering school is unable to give the children everything that I believe is necessary for being a good member of society, this should be done by the children ’s parents.