Differences between countries are becoming less evident. Nowadays people are watching the same films, fashion brands, advertisements and TV channels. To what extent do the disadvantages outweigh the advantages?

It is evident that the disparities between nations are becoming vague and people around the world are now sharing the same interests in fashion and media preferences. This writer contends that the benefits of increased revenue and cultural understanding of this international trend eclipse the drawbacks of unaffordable costs. To begin with, the homogenization of the purchasing and viewing behaviour of people raises the revenue of companies. If consumers all around the world share the same interest in goods, the consumption market will become more lucrative for companies. By doing so, businesses will have more potential customers, leading to an increase in the income of these businesses. For instance, milk manufacturers will be able to sell more dairy products when children around the world prefer the same brand of milk while increasing their revenue. However, there are opposing views that indicate this trend is prohibitively expensive. This is due to the fact that the cost increases with the internationalization of businesses. This meets the stringent standards of the global consumption market. Although this point is valid, it can be resolved as the profit of international companies should cover the entire fee of the process. For these reasons, globalization of the consumption market enables businesses to cover the exorbitant costs. This writer believes that by sharing the same preferences, people worldwide can increase sensitivity to cultures. As TV commercials and advertisements are being shown in almost every country, viewers can find out more about the culture being utilized in them. Take McDonalds as an example. Watching commercials about fast food from this brand, consumers can gain more information about the US, a nation which is deeply entrenched with fast food. Taking all points into consideration, although this trend is almost financially burdensome, it gives companies and individuals a higher income and cultural knowledge. Therefore, this author believes that the advantages outweigh the disadvantages.