Environmental damage is a problem in most countries. What are the major causes of environmental damage? Who are responsible for preventing environmental damage?

The environment is our protective shelter and provides us with the most vital resources, but its situation and condition are more and more damaging. This essay discusses several reasons for this problem; from then, potential solutions will be discussed to mitigate the problem. There are many possible causes of natural environmental destruction. The first one is human development, together with the boom in the number of people on Earth, which requires them to clear lands, cut down trees, and build houses and factories to satisfy human’s increasing demand for consumption and accommodation. A rise in deforestation leads to many catastrophic natural disasters. Also, factories and plants in industrial zones continuously release carbon dioxide emissions and toxic chemical waste into the nearby community water resources. These actions pollute the air and water sources, the main living conditions of thousands of other kinds of animals, such as birds, fishes, and other aquatic animals, which are co-living with us and benefit us in some way. However, governments and individuals could do something to mitigate their serious consequences to the environment. Regulations and rankings are needed to assess the level of emission of each factory, and governments can take sanctions on companies that affect the environment. This may help encourage businesses to apply advanced technologies to reduce their impact on the planet and use cleaner energy, such as solar, water or wind. Moreover, governments and individuals could participate in a campaign to plant more trees to make the Earth greener to compensate for the trees that have been cut down. In conclusion, humans, with their actions along with their development, have had negative effects on the environment, and governments and individuals may take joint action to help stop the problem from getting worse.