Some people think that the government is wasting money on the arts and that this money could be better spent elsewhere. To what extent do you agree with this view?

Owing to the belief in some quarters that it is a misuse of funds by the government to invest in the arts when such could be effectively put to use in some other ventures, I am of the opinion that any investment in the arts is not a waste of money. Firstly, arts has a way of bringing life to the very fabric that connects people together and an investment in this can be likened to an investment in the quality of life which thus suggests to one the premium a government places on its citizens. Furthermore, such investments affords people the opportunity to showcase their talents at a subsidized rate since the government is already funding such project. Another point to consider is the level of peace and excitement such investment is capable of providing, for instance when a country is given the rights to host an international competition like the World Cup. It would be observed that there is a general ambience of calm and excitement amongst the citizens of such host nation that tends to douse tension even among warring factions in such country if any. In addition to this, such investment also presents a spring board for other businesses to be birthed and groomed. In conclusion, when a government invests in the arts, it unconciously turns on a part of its citizens that has seemingly gone docile which makes them come alive and energetic. That cannot be said to be a waste but rather, a worthwhile investment.