Today’s teenagers have more stressful lives than previous generations. Discuss this view and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answers and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Compared with decades ago, adolescents are dealing with greater pressure in a lot of aspects. In this essay, I am going to shed some light on the possible causes of this phenomenon. First and foremost, the pressure is from the belief that they have to get flying colours in their academic studies as well as other curricula in order to secure a decent job in future. Nowadays, university students are just ubiquitous, and only the best ones can raise people's eyebrows. On the other hand, job opportunities are unabatedly shifted away to developing countries as a result of globalization, and computer programmes like artificial intelligence. For example, a son of my friend is required by his parents to read all kinds of local and global news, attend tuition schools and get used to the latest computer knowledge in order to look smart. Additionally, normal citizens nowadays are more pressurized and some of these pressures are inevitably passed on to their children. Income inequality is a serious problem in a lot of countries and plenty of families are just living from hand to mouth. For instance, in the US, an important apprehension of closing down schools during pandemic times was that nearly half of the students interviewed considered that the free meal provided by school was important or very important to their families. We can imagine how big psychological exhaustion must have been created for the students by their family's financial situation. In conclusion, the double whammy of plummeting odds of securing a good job in future as well as a higher percentage of students now impacted negatively by their family financial situation, has tragically made students more mentally stressed than in the past. In my opinion, the issues behind are too complex to have any chances of quick fix and we might need to see the teenager stress problem hang around for a while.