Caring for children is probably the most important job in any society. Because of this, all mothers and fathers should be required to take a course that prepares them to be good parents.

It is true that raising children is an important task in our society. Personally, I believe that parenting courses are essential and effective to equip a parent for that task, and I therefore agree that every parent, regardless of mother and father, is necessary to take a course for that. To begin with, the first argument springs to my mind is that parenting course are essential for parents to take up the responsibility to raise their children. This is because parenting is not a simple task but involves extensive skill sets. Hence, it requires proper training to acquire those skills. For example, how to use positive enforcement and negative punishment to shape a child's behaviour. Without attending a course and the knowledge of child psychology and developmental stages, it is difficult for parents to meet many challenges of rearing a child. It is also worth mentioning that parents attending a parenting course is effective for enhancing home-school cooperation. First of all, it is impossible to rely solely on teachers to cultivate a child's virtues and develop their good habits. According to a study in the Education University of Hong Kong, better home-school cooperation between teachers and parents is vital for nurturing the empathy and kindness of a child. Therefore, parenting courses with teaching home-school communication skills can prepare fathers and mothers be a good parent to develop a child's personality and character. In conclusion, I believe it is necessary and helpful for mothers and fathers to take a parenting course in order to equip them to be competent parents.