In towns and cities, large shopping malls should replace small local shops. Do you agree or disagree?

It is irrefutable that these days shopping malls are the main hangout spot for many folks. As a result, some have an opinion that in urban areas shopping plazas should succeed for small-scale businesses. I completely agree with this idea and this essay will elaborate more on that. To begin with, shopping complexes have a variety of purchasing options compared to individual smaller shops. When it comes to shopping apparel, there are multiple choices with respect to brands and styles within the complex. Moreover, small shops lack a variety of options and quality of the product. This is one of the major reasons for people for choosing international brands over local ones. For example, Lulu mall in Kochi is one of the biggest shopping plazas in South Asia which has major International brands and additionally, a lot of fun activities for every age group. Consequently, many of the nearby smaller businesses were shut down or relocated elsewhere. In addition, shopping malls are one of the attraction spots for many youngsters these days. One of the reasons for this might be due to the ambience of the place and the inclusion of play arenas. Due to this reason, many kids prefer going to malls than passing time elsewhere like parks, beaches, etc. This attraction is not just limited to kids, but also to many adults, who prefer to spend their weekday evenings or even weekends utilizing the shopping centres as a stress-buster spot or simply to watch movies with the family. For instance, many shopping malls are equipped with IMAX or INOX theatres which provide one of the best sound effects and picture quality, along with 3D or even 4D effects. This kind of entertainment may not be expected in small establishments. In conclusion, shopping malls provide a range of garments and other international branded items compared to little ventures. Furthermore, plazas might provide added entertainments like children's play areas, movie theatres, etc, which families usually prefer to spend some quality time with. Hence, in my opinion, small-scale businesses cannot provide such a plethora of options as compared to shopping malls.