Weddings are getting bigger and more expensive. What is the reason for this? Is it a positive or negative development?

In the modern world, many would argue that marriages have become a costlier affair that has a negative impact on society. However, I think it is a positive phenomenon that has benefited local businesses and society in generating more revenue. Those who argue against the positive impacts have every right to do so based on the negative influences it has on society. People tend to spend more and take more pressure on themselves it also has a negative impact on the family dynamics. For example, In,Bihar there is an increase in the number of deaths caused due to overspending during marriages. Parents take too much pressure on them to meet the societal ego and end up with deep holes in their pockets. furthermore, families can end up with too much debt that will require them to put more effort into generating money. However, contrary to this popular belief, there are numerous positive impacts as well. Firstly, expensive weddings tend to generate more revenue for local businesses. For example, corner flower shops can be hugely benefitted by overspending on these weddings. Secondly, expensive wedlocks generate handsome revenue for the government that in turn can be used to provide more incentives to the general public. Finally, these extravagant affairs end up providing short-term vacancies to the poorer section of the society and that is also beneficial. In conclusion, there are both negative and positive impacts of these expensive affairs and people can argue both ways but the positive impact outweighs the negative impact and hence I think it's a positive development that has benefitted society greatly.