Each year, the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

Day by day, illegal activities are increasing, and we need to find what are the causative factors and solutions in order to prevent further immorality. I can identify two main causes, and two possible countermeasures we could take. The primary cause of the rise in criminal acts is unemployment. In other words, when young people remain jobless for many years they might be unable to afford basic necessities of life, pay bills and meet family responsibilities. This could result in frustration and desperation. For example, when an individual graduate from school having spent several years in college depending on their parents' allowance or student loans and finally finished school without a job, he can be driven to take to stealing to survive. Hence, not being employed can cause more individuals to be forced to become offenders. A secondary cause is pressure from peers. That is the youth who lack the strong will to resist lawbreaking acts he sees from his friends often engage in such activities in order to measure up. For example, an adolescent who is often among his peers who is involved in cyber-crime might be coerced by his friends to engage in it Thus, resulting in an exponential number of lawbreakers. Turning to the possible remedies, the government should provide social benefits and offer some training programmes to alleviate poverty. In other words, health care benefits, monthly allowance and free education should be provided to low-income families to support them with feeding and education. Moreover, training provides citizens with the knowledge to develop and strengthen the necessary skills to gain a job. For instance, a skill acquisition programme can be organized by the government to train the populace in certain skills such as tailoring, barbing, and catering. Therefore, this could make them self-employed and reduce the rate of villains. A further solution may be educating the youth on the consequences of breaking the law. That is parents and schools should inform teenagers to shun crimes and antisocial behaviours as it can result in social unrest or the individual being sentenced to jail or imprisoned. As a result, this can create fear in the mind of young people and serves as a reminder to beware of crime. In conclusion, the factors behind societal vices are lack of job and unnecessary forces mounted by friends. Potential remedies may involve governmental involvement in empowering the youth and parental guidance.