Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It has been a heated debate as to whether youngsters should be working for free in their spare time. Some people argue that it could be beneficial for both their lives and the city, while others don't agree with this view. I strongly agree that pupils should be working for free in their free time as it boosts their self-esteem and prepares them for the future challenges that are ahead of them. The most remarkable merit of working while you are a teenager, is that you face the real challenges of life and gain significant experience. Furthermore, not only students learn things and communicate with a wider range of people, but also improve their self-confidence, as many youngsters struggle with a lack of self-esteem nowadays. For instance, when my sister, who just turned 13, went to a computer store to work, she not only learned about that major, but also made a lot of friends since she is an introverted person who could not even talk in public before. Hence, pupils may not notice, but working without expecting anyone to pay is one of the most beneficial approaches to improving their social skills in the long term. On the other hand, youngsters might feel that they are not good enough and do not deserve a payment or feel that they are not fit enough to be grown-ups and the community sees them as a tool and does not appreciate what they are doing which eventually leads them towards depression. To conclude, during the last few decades, people have strongly suggested that young people should work in their free time and should not expect to receive money due to the great profit that it has on themselves and their community. I believe that working without payment has significant benefits for them such as preparing them for a life that is ahead of them boosting their self-esteem and will make a profound contribution to their community.