Each year, the crime rate increases. What are the causes of crime and what could be done to prevent this rise in criminal activity?

Day by day, illegal activities are increasing, and we need to find the causative factors and solutions in order to prevent further immorality. I can identify two main causes, and two possible countermeasures we could take. The primary cause of the rise in criminal acts is unemployment. In other words, when young people remain jobless for many years they might be unable to afford basic necessities of life, pay bills and meet family responsibilities. This could result in frustration and desperation. For example, an individual who graduates from school having spent several years in college depending on their parents' allowance or student loans stays without a job, he can be driven to take to stealing to survive. Hence, not being employed can cause more individuals to be forced to become offenders. A secondary cause is a pressure from peers. That is the youth who lack the strong will to resist lawbreaking acts he sees from his friends often engage in such activities in order to measure up. For example, an adolescent who is often among his peers who is involved in cyber-crime might be coerced by his friends to engage in it Thus, resulting in an exponential number of lawbreakers. Turning to the possible remedies, the incidence of criminal offences can be reduced by improving employment opportunities. If, people are busy at work. They will not be able to conceive negative thoughts. In addition, being employed will give them the opportunity to cater for their family needs. For example,if a community reported antisocial behaviour, the government organised a skill acquisition programme for the youth, thus, they became self-employed, which led to a decrease in the occurrence of theft. A further solution to the growth of crime is educating the youth to shun negative pressures and to sensitize them to the consequences. When the young individuals are told they will be jailed or imprisoned if caught in murder or robbery. This could instil fear in them, therefore, it serves as a reminder to beware of crime In conclusion, lack of jobs and peer-group influence played a major role in the increasing crime rates. Potential remedies may involve provision of jobs to the citizens by the government and sensitization of the youths about the consequence of illegal acts.