Reading books keeps a person’s mind active, whereas watching films and television is passive and does not require a person to use their imagination. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Gaining knowledge through different sources is imperative nowadays. Therefore, some think that while reading books an individual’s mind is more involved in processing the text and creating a mental picture of it to understand, rather than watching visual media. However, I only partially support this statement as I believe that the brain is equally active when doing both. My stance is elaborated in the further essay. Several reasons can be put forth to support why books require a person’s mind active while reading them. The predominant cause is that understanding the book’s context to create a mental image of the text is instantly vital. This way, whatever inputs the brain gets from the eyes, will immediately make a clear picture of the scene. Not only this but also, readers’ attention to detail is mandatory as misunderstanding one spelling, a sentence or a paragraph could change the meaning of the whole text. However, visual media also requires the same amount of focus and concentration to understand the purpose. The primary cause is that often it is impossible to describe emotions through words. Additionally, this also adds finite details to the visual media and a fun element to enhance viewers' experience. For example, the Mr.Beans show is a perfect example of this. Although there are no verbal conversations in the show, it still requires viewers to pay attention to each scene to enjoy it. However, if someone reads a book about it then they will never understand what is the actual scene and may find it boring. To conclude, reading and watching both require an equal amount of focus and use of the brain as any information missed or misunderstood could lead the readers and viewers in a misleading direction.