Some schools have restricted the use of mobile phones. Is this a positive development or a negative one?

In most schools around the world, students are in possession of their own phones. Due to issues such as cyberbullying and student disengagement resulting from the use of these devices, many schools have now banned them in classrooms and yards. In my view, this is beneficial to learners’ academic performance and emotional wellbeing. Firstly, restricting mobile phone use in classrooms itself can improve learning. This will encourage pupils to pay close attention to explicit teaching and teacher instructions because these are integral to the successful completion of learning tasks. Having their devices at hand can temp students to constantly glance at their phone applications including, social media feeds, messages and even videos. If this behavioural pattern is consistent throughout every lesson, pupils will lose vital classroom time which they should utilise to pay attention and engage in their learning, thus resulting in a decrease in academic performance over time. Hence, it is imperative that phone privileges are taken away in learning spaces to increase attention span and engagement. Additionally, banning phone usage in yards can cultivate better emotional behaviour patterns. The time spent on screens in these spaces can lead to distancing from socialising and participating in physical activities which are imperative to emotional and cognitive development. Frequently checking visual online material at leisure prevents them from talking to peers, playing sports and even taking strolls across the yard which all assist in increasing positive behaviours such as resilience, patience and cooperation. Detaching themselves from these activities will undoubtedly lead children to be addicted to their devices and experience self-imposed emotional isolation. Therefore, a blanket ban on mobiles is influential in promoting and reinforcing positive emotional conduct. In conclusion, barring the use of mobile phones in schools has been considered a crucial step in preventing disengagement and bullying. While the use of these devices obviously has its benefits for children, it is evident that limitations of their usage must be put in place to assist in achieving learning outcomes and reinforcing enriching values.