The first car appeared on British roads in 1888. By the year 2000 there may be as many as 29 million vehicles on British roads. Alternative forms of transport should be encouraged and international laws introduced to control car ownership and use. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, the number of cars in the traffic system has been increasingly exorbitant and the issue in Britain mentioned is a clear indication. This trend has raised a belief that novel means of transport should come into being and globally-scaled regulations to put car ownership and use under control should be applied. From my perspective, I completely side with the argument and here are the reasons. The first merit of the conduct is that it may contribute to the reduction of air pollution, which is likely to be of great benefit to humans’ health. Mass production of cars has heavily contaminated the atmosphere due to a great deal of fumes emitted from these vehicles. As a consequence, those emission gases deteriorate human’s physical health with their chance of contracting respiratory diseases increasing significantly. In order to tackle this problem, new environmentally-friendly forms of transport would be an impeccable solution. Additionally, the governments setting a limit on car ownership of their population may also have a positive effect to protect the environment since the manufacture of cars may be subject to several restrictions. Another advantage of the regulation is its helping the roads avoid exceeding traffic congestions. Nations with overcrowded population such as Vietnam, Indonesia, and many other developing countries tend to experience traffic jam on a daily basis, since more and more cars are being produced and used to meet the demand of consumers. If new traffic -related rules are applied with the aim of cutting down on this means of transportation, more space on roads would be available, which facilitates the population’s daily schedules being completed. For instance, in 2014, there was a regulation in Korea that prevented people from owning more than 2 cars being newly applied, which then considerably reduced the traffic congestion in the country. In conclusion, although some people may suppose that the conduct is inappropriate, on the contrary, I personally believe that it would bring great benefits to the environment and traffic.